FAQ


When should I call Emergency 911?

Call 911 when there is a crime in progress, a fire, a medical emergency, when someone is in physical danger or in other situations in which help is needed immediately.

If I have a problem but it’s not an emergency, whom should I call?

For those situations in which the immediate intervention of emergency personnel is not needed, call 636-938-6600, the 24 hour general information line of the Police Department.  For persons with hearing disabilities, call the TDD line at 636-529-8210.

How can I become more active in programs sponsored by the Eureka Police Department, such as Neighborhood Watch or Police Reserve Unit?

Call the Eureka Police Department and ask to talk to Chief Michael Wiegand at 636-938-6600.

How do I obtain copies of police and accident reports?

If the incident occurred in Eureka, Missouri, contact the Eureka Police Department.  You should know the police report number.  You may obtain the report by mail or in person.  If the accident occurred in unincorporated St. Louis County, contact the St. Louis County Police Department at 314-615-5317 to obtain a copy of the report.

Gun Laws Overview

RIFLES & SHOTGUNS HANDGUNS
Permit to Purchase No No
Registration of Firearms No No
Licensing of Owners No No
Permit to Carry No No Permit Required

Permit to Carry Handguns Note: No permit is necessary to carry a concealed handgun if the person is at least 19 years of age or eighteen years of age and a member of the United States Armed Forces, or honorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces, and is not otherwise prohibited from carrying a firearm.

The list and map below are included as a tool to assist you in validating your information.  We have made every effort to report the information correctly, however reciprocity and recognition agreements are subject to frequent change.  The information is not intended as legal advice or a restatement of law and does not include:  restrictions that may be placed on non-resident permits, individuals under the age of 21, qualifying permit classes, and/or any other factor which may limit reciprocity and/or recognition. For any particular situation, a licensed local attorney must be consulted for an accurate interpretation.  YOU MUST ABIDE WITH ALL LAWS: STATE, FEDERAL AND LOCAL.

RECIPROCITY NOTES:  Virginia and Florida recognize a Missouri permit if the permit-holder is 21 years old or older; Wisconsin recognizes Missouri permits issued or renewed after 8/28/13; and Colorado, Florida, Maine, Michigan, New Hampshire and South Carolina recognize Missouri RESIDENT permits ONLY; http://ago.mo.gov/divisions/public-safety/concealed-carry-reciprocity

Right-to-Carry Laws Note: It is not unlawful to carry a concealed handgun if the person is at least 19 years of age or 18 years of age or older and a member of the United States Armed Forces, or honorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces, and is not otherwise prohibited from carrying a firearm. (The 2016 law, SB 656, changing the conceal carry requirements leaves intact the conceal carry permitting system for persons who wish to participate in reciprocal concealed carry permit agreements when traveling to other states.)

 

Where do I go if I need my police record checked and my fingerprints checked for a potential employer?

Go to the Bureau of Central Police Records at St. Louis County Police Headquarters in Clayton.  You are required to bring your Social Security Card plus one of the following types of identification:  Missouri Driver’s License, State I.D. card, Military I.D. or birth certificate.  For a detailed recorded message on getting a record check, call 314-615-5317.

I’m thinking of moving and would like to know what type and number of crimes occurred in the area.  How can I find out before I make my decision to move?

The Eureka Police Department maintains a breakdown of crime statistics.  Call the Eureka Police Department at 636-938-6600 for details or click on the following link:

Where can I locate a public listing of registered sex offenders?

To view the St. Louis County Public Listing of Registered Sex Offenders, click on the following link:

120 City Hall Drive, Eureka, Missouri 63025
(636) 938-6600,  Fax (636) 938-6602
For Emergencies, Call 911